Korea Expat BLog

2015-2016

major contemporary art fairs and shows around the Pacific and Atlantic rim – last update April 30 for 2015

[ 2015 ]

Los Angeles Art Show : January 14 Wednesday ~ 18 Sunday at Convention Center

[ Sotheby’s Hong Kong ]
January 20 Tuesday 6:30pm : Contemporary Art Auction

London Art Fair : January 21 Wednesday ~ 25 Sunday at Business Design Centre

Art Stage Singapore : January 22 Thursday ~ 25 Sunday at Marina Bay Sands, Sands Expo & Convention Centre

  • January 22 Thursday & 23 Friday noon ~ 7pm
  • January 24 Saturday 11am ~ 7pm
  • January 25 Sunday 11am ~ 6pm

Art Los Angeles Contemporary : January 29 Thursday ~ February 1 Sunday at Barker Hangar

india Art Fair : January 29 Thursday ~ February 15 Sunday  at NSiC Exhibition Grounds

 

 

ARCO Madrid Contemporary Art Fair : February 25 Wednesday ~ March 1 Sunday at iFEMA

Armory Show : March 5 Thursday ~ 8 Sunday at Piers 92 and 94, Manhattan

Pulse New York : March 5 Thursday ~ 8 Sunday, at Metropolitan Pavillion

Volta New York : March 5 Thursday ~ 8 Sunday, at 51st Street Pier 90

Suwon Hotel Art Fair : March 6 Friday ~ 8 Sunday, at Novotel Ambassador Suwon, South Korea .

 

Asia Contemporary Art Show : March 12 Thursday ~ 15 Sunday at Conrad Hong Kong 40 ~ 43 floors

  • March 12 Thursday 3~9:30pm VIP Collectors Preview
  • March 13 Friday 1~5pm (General admission), 5~9:30pm (Art Night)
  • March 14 Saturday 1~8:30pm
  • March 15 Sunday 11:30am~6pm

Art Basel Hong Kong : March 15 Sunday ~ 17 Tuesday at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre, tickets HKD180~850

  • March 13 Friday 6~9pm Private View #1
  • March 14 Saturday noon~4pm Private View #2
  • March 14 Saturday 4~9pm Vernissage
  • March 15 Sunday noon~1pm Private View #3
  • March 15 Sunday 1~8pm : general view
  • March 16 Monday noon~8pm : general view
  • March 17 Tuesday noon~5pm : general view

Art Central : March 14 Saturday ~ 16 Monday at their tent on 9 Lung Wo Road, Central, Hong Kong

  • March 13 Friday 10am~6pm VIP Preview
  • March 14 Saturday 10~11am VIP Preview
  • March 14 Saturday & 15 Sunday 11am~7pm
  • March 16 Monday 11am~5pm

 

Art Dubai : March 18 Wednesday ~ 21 Saturday

Tokyo Art Fair : March 20 Friday ~ 22 Sunday, at Tokyo international Forum

  • March 19 Thursday 4~6pm First Choice; 6~9pm Opening Preview
  • March 19 Thursday 4~9pm Press Preview
  • March 20 Friday 11am~9pm; 21 Saturday ~8pm
  • March 22 Sunday 10:30am~7pm

Anime Japan : March 21 Saturday & 22 Sunday, at Tokyo Big Site
both days 10am ~ 5pm

 

 

Art Cologne : April 16 Thursday ~ 19 Sunday

Art Xiamen (tentative) April 18 Saturday ~ 20 Monday

Young Art Taipei : April 22 Friday ~ 24 Sunday at Sheraton Grande 8 & 9F

  • April 22 Friday 3~8pm VIP Preview
  • April 23 Saturday & 24 Sunday noon~8pm

 

Christie’s On-Line Auction Post-War & Contemporary Art : May 1 Friday ~ 15 Friday

 

Art Beijing : May 1 Friday ~ 3 Sunday, at Agricultural Exhibition Center of China

  • April 30 Thursday Preview
  • May 1 Friday & 2 Saturday 11am ~ 7pm, 3 Sunday until 6pm

Art Rovolution Taipei : May 8 Friday ~ 11 Monday at Taipei World Trade Center

  • May 7 Thursday 7~10pm VIP Preview
  • May 8 Friday & 9 Saturday noon~8pm Regular
  • May 10 Sunday 11am~7pm Regular admission
  • May 11 Monday noon~8pm Regular admission

Venice Biennale : May 9 Saturday ~ November 22 Sunday

Affordable Art Fair May 22 Friday ~ 24 Sunday at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre .

  • May 22 Friday noon~6pm
  • May 23 Saturday 11am~7pm
  • May 24 Sunday 11am~6pm

 

Christie’s Hong Kong Auction at Convention and Exhibition Centre
May 28 Thu.~30 Sat.10:30am~6pm Viewing

  • May 30 Saturday 6pm : Asian 20th Century & Contemporary Art
  • May 31 Sunday 10:30am : Asian Contemporary Art
  • May 31 Sunday 2:30pm : Asian 20th Century Art
  • June 2 Tuesday 9:30am & 4pm : Fine Chinese Modern Paintings

Seoul Auction Hong Kong SALE : May 31 Sunday 6pm at Grand Hyatt Mezzanine Level

  • May 2 Saturday ~3 Sunday 10am~7pm Preview at Seoul Auction GangNam S-Space
  • May 6 Wednesday ~ 12 Tuesday 10am~7pm Preview at Seoul Auction Space
  • May 30 Saturday ~ 31 Sunday 10am~6pm Preview at Hong Kong Grand Hyatt

 

Art Busan, South Korea : June 5 Friday ~ 8 Monday at BEXCO Exhibition Center in Centum City Complex, HaeUnDae
– June 4 Thurday : ViP & Press Preview

 

Art Basel : June 18 Thursday ~ 21 Sunday

  • June 16 Tue.11am~8pm Private View
  • June 17 Wed.11am~3pm Private View
  • June 17 Wed.3~8pm Vernissage
  • June 18 Thu.~21 Sun.11am~7pm Public

VOLTA 11 Basel : June 15 Monday ~ 20 Saturday at MARKTHALLE, Viaduktstrasse 10, CH-4051 Basel, Switzerland

  • June 15 Monday 10am~noon Guest-of-Honour Preview
  • June 15 Monday noon~2pm VIP & Press Preview
  • June 15 Monday 2~5pm Vernissage, ~7pm Public (pay)
  • June 16 Tuesday ~ 20 Saturday 10am~7pm Public (pay)

Design Miami at Messe Basel : June 16 Tuesday ~ 21 Sunday

  • June 15 Saturday Preview
  • June 16 Tue.& 17 Wed.10am~8pm, 18 Thu.&19 Fri.~7pm
  • June 20 Sat.&21 Sun.11am~7pm

LISTE  : June 16 Tuesday ~ 21 Sunday at Burgweg 15.

  • June 15 Mon.noon~5pm Preview (invitation)
  • June 15 Mon.5~9pm Opening Reception (Public)
  • June 16 Tue.~20 Sat.1~9pm, 21 Sun.~6pm

 

Robo Universe : June 24 Wednesday~26 Friday at KINTEX, South Korea
– 9am~6pm daily Admission W10,000 FREE if you register at their website .

Art Osaka : July 4 Saturday & 5 Sunday at Hotel Granvia 26 Floor, Umeda
where inferior fairs tend to be for-pay, and here JPY1,500 for 1-day pass duh

  • July 3 Friday 2~8pm Preview
  • July 4 Saturday 11am~6pm, Night Viewing 7~9pm JPY2,000
  • 5 Sunday until 7pm

Art Santa Fe : July 9 Thursday ~ 12 Sunday at Convention Center

 

 

Melbourne Art Fair : August 5 Wednesday ~ 9 Sunday, at Royal Exhibition Building

Asia Hotel Art Fair : August 21 Friday ~ 23 Sunday, at SEOUL Yoido Conrad Hotel (Hilton)

  • September 21 Friday & 22 Saturday : noon~8pm VIP & Press Opening
  • September 22 Sunday noon~8pm Public Opening (invitation ONLY)

 

Sydney Contemporary Art Fair : September 10 Thursday ~ 13 Sunday at CarriageWorks .

  • September 9 Wednesday 4~8pm VIP Preview
  • September 10 Thursday 11am~5pm General
  • September 10 Thursday 5~9pm Opening Night
  • September 11 Friday 11am~7pm General
  • September 12 Saturday 10am~6pm General
  • September 13 Sunday 10am~5pm General

Affordable Art Fair : September 11 Friday ~ 13 Sunday at DongDaeMun Design Plaza, SEOUL
– September 10 Thursday : Private View

Cologne Art Fair : September 24 Thursday ~ 27 Sunday

 

Fine Art Asia : October 4 Sunday ~ 7 Wednesday at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

  • October 3 Saturday 12:30~2pm Press Preview
  • 2~6pm VIP Preview, 6~9pm Vernissage
  • October 4 Sunday ~6 Tuesday 11am~7pm Public
  • October 7 Wednesday 11am~6pm Public

Asia Contemporary Art Show : October 8 Thursday ~ 11 Monday at Conrad Hotel, Hong Kong 40~43 Floors

  • October 8 Thursday 5~9:30pm VIP Collectors’ Preview

 

Sotheby’s Hong Kong Auction at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre :

  • October 4 Sunday Evening : Modern and Contemporary Asian Art
  • October 5 Monday : Fine Classical Chinese Paintings
  • October 5 Monday : Modern Asian Art

P1000152_600x450MonoCR

KiAF Korea international Art Fair : October 7 Wednesday ~ 11 Sunday at COEX, SEOUL

  • October 6 Tuesday 1pm Gold VIP & Press
  • October 6 Tuesday 4pm VIP
  • October 7 Wednesday ~ 10 Saturday 1~8pm general viewing
  • October 11 Sunday 11am~5pm general viewing (W10,000)

FiAC Foire international Contemporary Art Fair : October 22 Thursday ~ 25 Sunday at Grand Palais, Paris

 

Art Taipei : October 30 Friday ~ November 2 Monday at Taipei World Trade Center, Exhibition Hall One No.5

  • October 29 Thursday VIP Preview & Vernissage
  • October 30 Fri.~Nov.1 Sunday 11am~7pm Public Opening
  • November 2 Monday 11am~6pm Public Opening

Art San Diego Contemporary Show : November 5 Thursday ~ 8 Sunday

SOFA Sculpture Objects Functional Art  & Design : November 5 Thursday ~ 8 Sunday at Festival Hall, Chicago Navy Pier

  • November 6 Friday & 7 Saturday 11am~7pm
  • November 8 Sunday noon~6pm

ShangHai Art Fair  : November 12 Thursday ~ 15 Sunday at ShangHai Mart

Affordable Art Fair : November 12 Thursday ~ 15 Sunday at Pit Building, Singapore

Singapore Bank Art Fair : November 19 Thursday ~ 22 Sunday at Pan Pacific Hotel

 

Art Basel Miami Beach : December 1 Tuesday ~ 4 Friday at Miami Beach Convention Center

PULSE Miami : December 1 Tuesday ~ 5 Saturday at indian Beach Park

  • December 1 Tuesday 1~4pm Private Preview Brunch
  • December 1 Tuesday 4~7pm Opening Celebration
  • December 2 Wednesday ~ 4 Friday 10am~7pm  Public (PAID)
  • December 5 Saturday 10am~5pm  Public (PAID)
  • December 5 Saturday 5~7pm  Sunset Celebration

NADA : December 5 Saturday ~ 8 Tuesday at The Fontainebleau Miami Beach

  • December 3 Thursday 10am~2pm Opening Preview
  • December 3 Thursday 2~7pm Public
  • December 4 Friday 10am~7pm Public
  • December 5 Saturday 10am~6pm Public

 

 

[ 2016 ]

Hotel fairs are in parenthesis, while Auctions are indented :

Sothoby’s Hong Kong – Contemporary Art Auction
– January 15 Friday 10am~6pm
– January 16 Saturday 11am~5pm
– January 17 Sunday 11am~5pm
– January 18 Monday 10am~6pm
– January 19 Tuesday 10am~6pm
– January 20 Wednesday 10am~6pm

London Art Fair – January 20 Wednesday ~ 24 Sunday at Business Design Centre in islington

  • January 19 Tuesday 3~6pm : VIP Preview
  • January 20 Wednesday & 21 Thursday 11am~9pm
  • January 22 Friday & 23 Saturday 11am~7pm
  • January 24 Sunday 10am~5pm

 

Photo LA – January 21 Thursday ~ 24 Sunday at The Reef/LA Mart

  • January 21 Thursday 7pm Opening Night Gala
  • January 22 Friday & 23 Saturday 11am~7pm
  • January 24 Sunday 11am~6pm

Los Angeles Art Show – January 27 Wednesday ~ 31 Sunday at Los Angeles Convention Center

  • January 28 Thursday ~ 30 Saturday 11am~7pm
  • January 31 Sunday 11am~5pm

 

Art Stage Singapore – January 21 Thursday ~ 24 Sunday at Marina Bay Sands Expo and Convention Centre

  • January 21 Thursday noon~8pm
  • January 22 Friday & 23 Saturday 11am~7pm
  • January 24 Sunday 11am~6pm

Stockholm international Antiques Fair – February 18 Thursday ~ 21 Sunday at Stockholm Exhibition and Congress Center

ARCO February 24 Wednesday ~ 28 Sunday at Feria de Madrid

  • February 24 Wednesday & 25 Thursday noon~8pm for Professionals
  • February 27 Saturday 11am~noon for NEW Professionals
  • February 26 Friday ~ 28 Sunday noon~8pm Public

Art Madrid – February 24 Wednesday ~ 28 Sunday at the Galería de Cristal of CentroCentro Cibeles

  • 11am~9pm Paid

 

VOLTA New York – March 2 Wednesday ~ 6 Sunday at Pier 90

  • March 2 Wednesday 5~6pm : Press Conference and Preview
  • March 2 Wednesday 6~7pm : Guest of Honour Preview
  • March 2 Wednesday 7~8pm : ViP Preview
  • March 2 Wednesday 8~10pm : Public Vernissage
  • March 3 Thursday ~ 5 Saturday : noon~8pm Public
  • March 6 Sunday noon~6pm Public

Armory Show New York – March 3 Thursday ~ 6 Sunday at Piers 92 & 94 .

  • March 2 Wednesday : Opening Day at 12th Avenue at 55th Street
  • March 3 Thursday ~ 6 Sunday : noon~7pm

PULSE New York – March 3 Thursday ~ 6 Sunday at the Metropolitan Pavillion

  • March 3 Thursday 10am~1pm Private Preview Brunch
  • March 3 Thursday 1~6pm Public $25
  • March 3 Thursday 6~8pm Young Collectors Cocktails
  • March 4 Friday 11am~8pm  Public $25
  • March 4 Friday 5~6pm Museum Members
  • March 5 Saturday 11am~8pm Public $25
  • March 6 Sunday 11am~5pm Public $25

SCOPE New York – March 3 Thursday ~ 6 Sunday at Armory Show Piers

  • March 3 Thursday 2~4pm Platinum First View $150
  • March 3 Thursday 4~6pm ViP / Press View $100
  • March 3 Thursday 6~10pm General Admission $35
  • March 4 Friday ~ 6 Sunday : 11am~8pm General Admission $35

 

( Art in Park Hotel Tokyo ) March 12 Saturday and 13 Sunday on 26 & 27th Floors

  • March 11 Friday noon~7pm : Preview
  • March 12 Saturday & 13 Sunday 10:30am~noon : invitees
  • March 12 Saturday & 13 Sunday noon~7pm : Y1500

Art Dubai – March 16 ~ 19 at Madinat Jumeirah

 

Art Central – March 24 Thursday ~ 26 Saturday at Hong Kong Central HarbourFront (tent)

  • March 21 Monday 5~9pm “First Night”
  • March 22 Tuesday 10am~6pm ViP Preview
  • March 23 Wednesday & 24 Thursday 11am~noon ViP Preview
  • March 23 Wednesday & 24 Thursday noon~7pm General
  • March 25 Friday 11am~7pm General
  • March 26 Sunday 11am~6pm General

Art Basel Hong Kong – March 24 Thursday ~ 26 Saturday at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre

  • March 22 Tuesday 3~8pm Private View
  • March 23 Wednesday 1~5pm Private View
  • March 23 Wednesday 5~9pm Vernissage
  • March 24 Thursday 1~9pm Public (PAID)
  • March 25 Friday 1~8pm Public (PAID)
  • March 26 Saturday 1~6pm Public (PAID)

 

Art Paris – March 31 Thursday ~ April 3 Sunday at Grand Palais

  • March 30 Wednesday 2~6pm Trade Opening
  • March 30 Wednesday 6~10pm Vernissage
  • March 31 Thursday 11:30am~8pm Paid
  • April 1 Friday 11:30am~9pm Paid
  • April 2 Saturday 11:30am~8pm Paid
  • April 3 Sunday 11:30am~7pm Paid

NADAArt Cologne – April 14 Thursday ~ 17 Sunday at Koelnmesse GmbH

Art Cologne – April 14 Thursday ~ 17 Sunday at Koelnmesse GmbH

  • April 13 Wednesday 2~8pm Vernissage
  • April 14 Thursday ~ 16 Saturday : 11am~7pm
  • April 17 Sunday 11am~6pm

Art Brussels – April 22 Friday ~ 24 Sunday at Avenue du Port 86C

  • April 21 Thursday : Vernissage
  • April 22 Friday ~ 24 Sunday

 

( Young Art Taipei ) April 22 Friday ~ 24 Sunday at Sheraton Grande Taipei 8 & 9th Floors

  • April 22 Friday 3~8pm : ViP Preview
  • April 23 Saturday & 24 Sunday : noon~8pm Public

Art Beijing – May 1 Sunday ~ 3 Tuesday at Agricultural Exhibition Center of China

  • April 30 Saturday 6~10pm for ViP
  • May 1 Sunday & 2 Monday : noon~9pm Paid/invitation
  • May 3 Tuesday noon~6pm Paid/invitation

 

NADA – May 5 Thursday ~8 Sunday at New York BasketBall City

Art Fair Tokyo – May 12 Thursday ~ 14 Saturday at Tokyo international Forum

  • May 11 Wednesday 4~6pm First Choice (limited)
  • May 11 Wednesday 6~9pm VIP Opening and Press Preview
  • May 12 Thursday 11am~2pm VIP
  • May 12 Thursday 2~9pm Public (Paid)
  • May 13 Friday 11am~noon VIP
  • May 13 Friday noon~8pm Public (Paid)
  • May 14 Saturday 10:30am~5pm Public (Paid)

Art Busan – May 20 Friday ~ 23 Monday at BEXCO Exhibition Hall

  • May 19 Thursday 3~8pm VIP Preview & Opening
  • May 20 Friday ~ 22 Sunday noon~8pm
  • May 23 Tuesday 11am~5pm

 

Christie’s Hong Kong Auction
at Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
( Viewing : May 26 Thurs.~ 28 Sat.10:30am~6pm )

  • May 28 Saturday 5:30pm : Asian 20th Century & Contemporary Art and ink
  • May 29 Sunday 10:30am : Asian Contmporary Art
  • May 29 Sunday 2pm : Asian 20th Century Art
  • May 30 Monday 10:30am : Fine Chinese Classical Paintings & Calligraphy
  • May 31 Tuesday 10:30am & 2:30pm Fine Chinese Modern Paintings

 

VOLTA Basel – June 13 Monday ~ 18 Saturday at Markthalle

  • June 13 Monday 10am~noon Guest of Honor Preview
  • June 13 Monday noon~2pm ViP/Press Preview
  • June 13 Monday 2~7pm Public Vernissage
  • June 14 Tuesday ~ 18 Saturday : 10am~7pm Public CHF17
  • June 16 Thursday 5~7pm : Basel Nacht

Art Basel – June 16 Monday ~ 19 Sunday at Messe Basel

  • June 13 Monday ~ 15 Wednesday : Private Day
  • June 15 Wednesday : Vernissage
  • June 16 Thursday ~ 19 Sunday : Public

 

( Art Osaka ) July 2 Saturday and 3 Sunday at Hotel Granvia atop Umeda Train Station

  • July 1 Friday : Preview
  • July 2 Saturday & 3 Sunday : Public
  • July 2 Saturday 7~9pm : Y2000

 

Art Stage Jakarta at Sheraton Grand Jakarta Gandaria City Hotel .

  • August 5 Friday 3~9pm VIP Day, 5pm Opening, 8pm~Party
  • August 6 Saturday 10am~1pm Private Collections
    1~9pm Fair, 9pm~VIP Party @ Collector Kusuma’s
  • August 7 Sunday 10am~1pm Private Collections
    11am~9pm Fair

Bazaar Art Jakarta at Ritz-Carlton Jakarta Pacific Place .

  • August 25 Thursday 3~5pm VIP Preview
    7~10pm Vernissage
  • August 26 Friday ~ 28 Sunday noon~10pm Fair

 

CiGE China international Gallery Exposition – September 2 Friday ~ 4 Sunday at Beijing international Conference Center .
*Their WebSite is not updated

  • September 1 Thursday 5~10pm : ViP Preview
  • Sept.2 Fri.& 3 Sat.10am~7pm : Public
  • September 4 Sunday 10am~5pm : Public

Photo ShangHai – September 9 Friday ~ 11 Sunday at ShangHai Exhibition Centre .
( participating hotel : Portman Ritz-Carlton Shanghai )

  • September 8 Thursday 3~6pm : Collectors’ Preview
  • September 8 Thursday 6~9pm : Vernissage
  • September 9 Friday 11am~6pm : ViP Preview
  • Sep.10 Sat~11 Sun. Public Opening Hours

 

KiAF Korea international Art Fair – October 12 Wednesday ~ 16 Sunday at COEX Exhibition Hall, SEOUL

  • October 12 Wednesday : Opening with Preview at 4pm
  • open 11am~8pm except 16 Sunday until 5pm
  • entrance W15,000 for adults

 

Art021 ShangHai Contemporary Art Fair – November 11 Friday ~ 13 Sunday at ShangHai Exhibition Center .

  • November 10 Thursday 2~8pm Collectors Preview
  • November 11 Friday noon~4pm Collectors Preview
  • November 11 Friday 4~9pm Vernissage
  • November 12 Saturday & 13 Sunday 11am~6pm Public Days

Art Taipei – November 12 Saturday ~ 15 Tuesday at Taipei World Trade Center .

Cologne Fine Art – November 17 Thursday~ 20 Sunday at Köln-Deutz trade fair grounds .

  • November 16 Wednesday : Preview and Vernissage

 

 

Art Miami – November 29 Tuesday ~ December 4 Sunday at midtown Miami complex in Wynwood Arts District .

  • November 29 Tuesday 5:30~10pm : ViP Preview
  • Nov.30 Wednesday~Dec.3 Saturday 11am~8pm : Day Pass
  • December 3 Sunday 11am~6pm : Day Pass

( Context, Miami Project, Aqua Art, Design Miami, Pinta, Untitled, X Contemporary, NADA, Red Dot, ink Miami, plus other creative names you can come-up with.. planned on similar dates )

SCOPE Miami Beach – November 29 Wednesday~December 4 Sunday at Miami Beach Pavilion

 

Art Basel Miami Beach – December 1 Thursday ~4 Sunday at Miami Beach Convention Center .

  • November 30 Wednesday : First Choice and Preview
  • December 1 Thursday : Vernissage
  • Dec.1 Thu~4 Sun. Public Days

PULSE Miami Contemporary Art Fair – December 1 Thursday~4 Sunday at indian Beach Park .

  • December 1 Thursday 10am~1pm : Private Preview Brunch
  • December 1 Thursday 1~7pm : Paid Admission
  • December 1 Thursday 5~7pm : Young Collectors Cocktails
  • Dec.2 Fri.& 3 Sat.10am~7pm : Paid Admission
  • December 4 Sunday 10am~5pm : Paid Admission

 

Last Update August 3, 2016

– Andy Warhol’s Dollar, Flower and Liz : Korea Expat BLog –

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *