Korea Expat BLog

2009-2010

following are my selection of Art Fairs, Shows, Exhibitions and Auctions
showcasing newer comtemporary artists (including photography and sculpture or figures) who are well on way to popularity
of particular interest among collectors and galleries in countries in Asia and along the Pacific Rim .

– last update September 2009

– 2009 –

.

[email protected] Hotel Art Fair – THE AGNES HOTEL AND APARTMENTS, TOKYO
January 10(Sat) & 11(Sun) 11am~7pm/6pm

Photo Los Angeles – BARKER HANGAR, Santa Monica
January 9(Fri) ~ 11(Sun) noon ~ 8pm/11th ~ 6pm
January 8(Thu) 6 ~ 9pm Benefit Reception

Los Angeles Art Show and Los Angeles Print Fair – LA CONVENTION CENTER
January 22(Thu) ~ 25(Sun) 11am ~ 8pm/25th ~ 5pm
January 21(Wed) 6pm VIP Preview, 7 ~ 10:30pm Opening Night Gala

Art LA – BARKER HANGAR, Santa Monica
January 23(Fri) ~ 25(Sun) 11am ~ 7pm/25th ~ 6pm
January 22(Thu) 6:30 ~ 10:30pm Opening Night

.

Art Daegu – Daegu EXCO, South Korea
February 27(Fri) ~ March 3(Tue) 11am ~ 8pm/3rd ~6pm
February 27(Fri) 11am Opening Ceremony

.

Pulse New York – Pier 40, Manhattan
March 6(Fri) ~ 8(Sun) noon ~ 8pm/8th ~5pm
March 5(Thu) 9 ~ 10 am Press and First Access, 10 am ~ noon VIP Private Preview

GEISAI (amateur showcase) – TOKYO BIGSIGHT EAST HALL
March 8(Sun) 10am ~ 6pm

Art Dubai – MADINAT JUMEIRAH, Dubai
March 19(Thu) ~ 21(Sat) 4~9pm/2~9pm/10am ~ 6pm
March 18(Wed) 4 ~ 9:30pm Vernissage

Korea Galleries Art Fair – BEXCO, Busan, South Korea
March 19(Thu) ~ 23(Mon) 10am ~ 7pm/Monday ~ 5pm
March 18(Wed) 4pm Press Opening, 5 ~ 7pm Opening Ceremony

K Auction (Korean) at K-AUCTION
March 25(Wed) 5pm Spring Sale
March 17(Tue) ~ 24(Tue) 10am ~ 6pm Viewing at K-Auction ChungDamDong ShowRoom

Seoul Auction [Modern and Contemporary Art]
March 26(Thu) 5pm SEOUL AUCTION
March 14(Sat) ~ 16(Mon) 10am ~ 7pm Preview at PARADISE HOTEL, BUSAN
March 20(Fri) ~ 25(Wed) 10am ~ 7pm Preview at SEOUL AUCTION

DSC03872c640x360Tem
Tokyo Art Fair – TOKYO INTERNATIONAL FORUM & Marunouchi TOKIA
April 3(Fri) ~ 5(Sun) 11am ~ 9pm/8pm/5th 10:30am ~ 5pm
April 2(Thu) 4 ~ 7pm First Choice, 7 ~ 9pm Opening Preview

Shinwa Art Auction [Contemporary Art]
April 4(Sat) 5pm probably at  TOKYO INTERNATIONAL FORUM
April 1(Wed) ~ 3(Fri) 10am ~ 8pm/4(Sat) ~ noon Viewing at Shinwa Art Museum, Tokyo

Sothoby’s Hong Kong at HONG KONG CONVENTION AND EXHIBITION CENTRE
April 5(Sun) 1oam Modern and Contemporary Southeast Asian Paintings [HK0297]
April 6(Tue) 10am 20th Century Chinese Art [HK0298]
April 6(Tue) 2pm Contemporary Asian Art [HK0296]

CIGE (China International Gallery Exposition), CHINA WORLD TRADE CENTER, Beijing
April 16 ~ 19th 10am ~ 7pm/19th ~5pm

Art Shanghai – ShanghaiMART
April 16 ~ 20th 10am ~ 6pm/20th ~ 5pm
April 15th 7 ~ 9pm Preview & Opening Ceremony

Art Beijing Contemporary Art Fair -AGRICULTURAL EXHIBITION CENTRE OF CHINA, BEIJING
April 27 ~ 30th 10am ~ 7pm/30th ~ 6pm
April 26th 7 ~ 10pm VIP Preview

.

Young Art Taipei – SUNWORLD DYNASTY HOTEL TAIPEI
May 8(Fri) ~ 10(Sun) 11am ~ 8pm/10th ~ 7pm
May 7(Thu) 3 ~ 6pm Preview, 8 ~ 10pm Opening

Hong Kong Art Fair – HONG KONG CONVENTION AND EXHIBITION CENTRE
May 14(Thu) ~ 17(Sun) noon ~ 9pm/8pm/8pm/6pm
May 13(Wed) 4 ~ 6pm Preview, 6 ~ 9pm Vernissage

Seoul Auction [2nd Hong Kong Sale]
May 15(Fri) HONG KONG GRAND HYATT HOTEL

Est-Ouest Auctions (Japanese) HONG KONG JW MARRIOTT
May 15(Fri) & 16(Sat) [Asian Post-War & Contemporary Art, Western Fine Art, Art-Nouveau & Deco, Jewellery, Oriental Art etc.]

Christie’s Hong Kong probably at HONG KONG CONVENTION AND EXHIBITION CENTRE
May 24(Sun) 11am [Southeast Asian Modern and Contemporary Art]
May 24(Sun) 7pm [Asian Contemporary Art] (Evening Sale)

.

Art Basel – MESSE BASEL
June 10(Wed) ~ 14(Sun) 11am ~ 7pm/Sunday ~ 6pm
June 9(Tue) 11am ~ 9pm invited guests

.

India Art Summit – Pragati Maidan (ITPO), New Delhi
August 20(Thu) ~ 22(Sat) 11am ~ 8pm/22nd ~ 6pm
August 19(Wed) 3 ~ 8pm VIP Preview, 6 ~ 8pm VIP Reception

Asia Top Gallery Hotel Art Fair – GRAND HYATT SEOUL
August 21(Fri) ~ 23(Sun) noon ~8pm/23rd ~ 7pm
August 21(Fri) 8 ~ 10pm Opening Party

Art Osaka (hotel fair) – DOJIMA HOTEL, Osaka
August 22(Sat) ~ 23(Sun) noon ~ 7pm
August 21(Fri) Preview & Press

Aqua Metropolis Osaka 2009 (cultural waterfront event)
August 22(Sat) ~ October 12(Mon)

Art Taipei – Taipei World Trade Center
August 28(Fri) ~ September 1(Tue) 11am ~ 7pm/last day ~6pm
August 27(Thu) 6:30 ~ 9pm Vernissage

.

Tokyo Photo 2009 – BelleSalle Roppongi, Tokyo
September 4(Fri) ~ 6(Sun) 11am ~ 5pm, except Sat. ~ 7pm,
September 3(Thu) 7 ~ 10pm VIP Viewing
September 4(Fri) 7 ~ 10pm Reception

Shanghai Art Fair – ShanghaiMART
September 9(Wed) ~ 13(Sun) 10am ~ 6pm/13th ~ 5pm
September 8(Tue) 7:30pm Vernissage

ShangHai Comtemporary – SHANGHAI EXHIBITION CENTRE
September 10(Thu) ~ 13(Sun)
September 9(Wed) Preview

KIAF (Korea International Art Fair) – COEX Seoul
September 18(Fri) ~ 22(Tue)
September 17(Thu) 3pm VIP/Press Open, 5pm Opening Ceremony

.

_

Sothoby’s HONG KONG CONVENTION AND EXHIBITION CENTRE (New Wing)
Oct. 6(Tue) 2pm [Modern and Contemporary SouthEast Asian Paintings]
viewing Jakarta Aug.28~30 10am ~ 8pm Sotheby’s Office
viewing Singapore Sep.12 & 13 11am ~ 6:30pm The Regent Singapore
viewing Taipei Sep.19 & 20 11am ~ 6:30pm Cathay Financial Conference Hall
viewing Hong Kong Oct. 3 ~ 5 10am ~ 6:30pm, Oct. 6 ~1pm Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
Oct. 6(Tue) 5pm [Contemporary Asian Art]
viewing ShangHai Sep. 5(Sat) & 6(Sun) 10am ~ 6pm Hyatt on the Bund
viewing BeiJing Sep. 8(Tue) & 9(Wed) 10am ~ 6pm The St.Regis Hotel BeiJing
viewing New York Sep.11(Fri) ~ 15(Tue) 10am ~ 5pm, except Sun:1pm~ / Tue:~1pm
viewing Singapore/Taipei/HK same as above

ART Singapore – SUNTEC SINGAPORE
October 9 ~ 11th 11am ~ 8pm/11th ~5pm
October 8(Thu) 3 ~ 6pm Private Preview, 6 ~ 9pm Gala Party

Licensing Asia 2009 – Tokyo Big Site Exhibition Hall East Hall 1
Oct.14 ~ 16

Japan Anime Collaboration Market Japan International Festival – Akihabara UDX, Tokyo
Oct.15(Thu) ~ 18(Sun)

Art Sydney – Royal Hall of Industries, Moore Park
Oct.23(Fri) ~ 25(Sun) Fri: noon ~ 9pm/ Sat:10am ~ 6pm/ Sun: ~5pm
Oct.22(Thu) 5 ~ 9pm Opening Preview Night

Dubai International Character & Licensing Fair – Dubai International Convention & Exhibition Centre
Oct.27 ~ 29

.

_

Christie’s Hong Kong probably at HONG KONG CONVENTION AND EXHIBITION CENTRE
Nov.29(Sun) 7pm [Asian Contemporary Art & Chinese 20th Century Art] (Evening Sale)
viewing Nov.27 10:30 ~ 6pm, Nov.28 & 29 ~6:30pm
Nov.30(Mon) 10:30am [Southeast Asian Modern and Contemporary Art]
viewing Singapore Oct.10 & 11 11am ~ 7pm
viewing Hong Kong Nov.27 10:30am ~ 6pm, Nov.28 & 29 ~6:30pm
Nov.30(Mon) 5pm [Asian Contemporary Art] (Day Sale)
viewing Nov.27 10:30 ~ 6pm, Nov.28 & 29 ~6:30pm

Tokyo Contemporary Art Fair – Toubi Art Forum, Tokyo
November 21(Sat) ~ 23(Mon/Holiday)

.

Photo Miami – Midtown Miami, Wynwood Arts District
Dec. 2(Wed) ~ 6(Sun) Wed:11am ~ 3pm/ Thu ~ Sat: ~7pm/ Sun: ~ 6pm
Dec. 1(Tue) 6~10pm VIP Reception

Pulse Miami – SoHo Studios
December 2(Wed) ~ 6(Sun) 11am ~ 7pm/2nd ~ 3pm/ 6th ~ ~5pm

Scope Miami – 3000 NE 1st Ave. Miami, FL 33127
Dec. 3(Thu) ~ 6(Sun) 11am ~ 7pm/ Sun: ~6pm
Dec. 2(Wed) 11am ~ 6pm First View & Press

Art Basel Miami Beach – MIAMI BEACH CONVENTION CENTER
December 3(Thu) ~ 6(Sun) noon ~ 8pm/Sunday ~ 6pm
December 2(Wed) 5 ~ 8pm Vernissage

.

.

– 2010 –

Hong Kong Toys & Games Fair – Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
Jan.11 ~ 14

Photo LA – Santa Monica, CA
January 14 ~ 17

Los Angeles Art Show – LA Convention Center
Jan.20 ~ 24

Art Los Angeles
January 28 ~ 31

G-Tokyo 2010 Art Fair – Mori Arts Center Gallery, Roppongi
January 30(Sat) ~ 31(Sun) 11am ~ 8pm
January 29(Fri) 2 ~ 7pm First Choice/3 ~ 7pm Press Preview

.

International Toy Fair Nurnberg – Nurnberg Exhibition Centre, Germany
February 4(Thu) ~ 9(Tue) 9am ~ 6pm (last day ~5pm)

Art Madrid
February 16 ~ 21

ARCO – Madrid
February 17 ~ 21

Asia Top Gallery Hotel Art Fair – Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
February 26(Fri) ~ 28(Sun) 1st day 3 ~ 8pm, 2nd day noon ~ 8pm, 3rd day ~7pm
February 26(Fri) 11am ~ 3pm Press/VIP Preview,
February 26(Fri) 8 ~ 10pm Opening Party at Grand Hyatt Pool House !

.

Armory Show – New York
March 4 ~ 7

Pulse New York
March 4(Thu) ~ 7(Sun) noon ~ 8pm, last day ~5pm
March 4(Thu) 9am ~ noon Private Preview

Art Dubai
March 17 ~ 20

Art Paris
March 18 ~ 22

ArtExpo New York
March 25 ~ 28

Tokyo International Anime FairTokyo Big Site
Mar.25(Thu) & 26(Fri) 10am ~ 6pm Business Days
Mar.27(Sat) & 28(Sun) 10am ~ 6pm Public Days

.

Art Fair Tokyo – Tokyo International Forum
April 2(Fri) ~ 4(Sun) 1st day 11am ~ 9pm, 2nd day ~ 8pm, 3rd day 10:30am ~ 7pm
April 1(Thu) 4 ~ 7pm First Choice, 7 ~ 9pm Opening Preview and Press

Wonder Con – Moscone Center South, San Francisco
April 2(Fri) ~ 4(Sun)

Almoneda – Madrid
April 10 ~ 18

Art Cologne
April 21 ~ 25

CIGE China International Gallery Exposition – BeiJing
April 22(Thu) ~ 25(Sun)

Art Melbourne
April 22 ~ 25

Art BeijingChina Agricultural Exhibition Center
April 29(Thu)  ~ May 2(Sun)

Art Chicago
April 30 ~ May 3

.

CONTACT Toronto Photography Festival
May 1 ~ 31

Expo 2010 ShangHai – Nanpu Bridge/Lupu Bridge Site
May 1(Sun) ~ October 31(Sun)

Super Comic City 19Tokyo Big Site
May 2(Sun) & 3(Mon) 10am ~ 3pm

Volks Dolls Party 23 – Tokyo Big Site
May 4(Tue) 10am ~ 5pm

Japan Hobby Show – Tokyo Big Site
May 6(Thu) ~ 8(Sat) 10am ~ 5pm

Art ShangHaiShangHai Mart
May 12(Wed) ~ 16(Sun)

Young Art TaipeiSunWorld Dynasty Hotel 2F
May 13(Thu) ~ 16(Sun)

Art Amsterdam
May 26 ~ 30

 

Art HK Hong Kong International Art FairHong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
May 27(Thu) ~ 30(Sun) Thu. Noon ~ 9pm, Fri. ~8pm, Sat. ~7pm, Sun. ~ 5pm
May 26(Wed) 4 ~ 6pm Collectors’ Preview
May 26(Wed) 6 ~ 9pm Vernissage

Christie’s Hong Kong Asian Auctions – Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
May 26(Wed) 10:30am ~ 6:30pm Viewing
May 27(Thu) 10:30am ~ 6pm Viewing
May 28(Fri) 10:30am ~ 6:30pm Viewing
May 29(Sat) 10:30am ~ 6pm Viewing
May 29(Sat) 7pm Asian Contemporary Art and Chinese 20th Century Art (Evening Sale)
May 30(Sat) 10:30am ~ 2pm Viewing
May 30(Sat) 10:30am Southeast Asian Modern and Contemporary Art
May 30(Sat) 2:30pm Sale Information Chinese 20th Century Art (Day Sale)
May 30(Sat) 4:30pm Sale Information Asian Contemporary Art (Day Sale)

.

Untitled Artists’ Fair – London
June 4 ~ 6

London International Fine Art Fair
June 4 ~ 13

Olympia International Art & Antiques Fair – London
June 4 ~ 13

PhotoEspana – Madrid
June 9 ~ 25

Volta Show – Basel
June 14 ~ 20

Art BaselMesse Basel
June 16 ~ 20

Comic City Tokyo 124 – Tokyo Big Site
June 27(Sun) 11am ~ 3pm

PhotoNext 2010 – Tokyo Big Site
June 29(Tue) & 30(Wed) 1am ~ 5pm

.

Art Osaka 2010Dojima Hotel, Osaka, Japan 8/9/10/11 floors
July 10(Sat) & 11(Sun) noon ~ 7pm
July 9(Fri) 2 ~ 8pm Preview for Press & VIP
July 9(Fri) 8:30 ~ 10:30pm Reception at 1st floor The Diner

International Tokyo Toy Show 2010 – Tokyo Big Site
July 15(Thu) & 16(Fri) 9:30am ~ 6pm Business Days
July 17(Sat) & 18(Sun) 9:30am ~ 6pm Public Days

Comic Con InternationalSan Diego Convention Center
July 22(Thu) ~ 25(Sun)
July 21(Wed) Preview Night

.

Melbourne Art Fair – Royal Exhibition Building, Carlton Gardens
August 5(Thu) ~ 8(Sun) 11am ~ 7pm, Friday ~8pm, Sunday ~5pm
August 4(Wed) 7 ~ 10:30pm Vernissage Preview

BeiJing International Art FairBeiJing China World Trade Center
August 19 ~ 23 9:30am ~ 5:30pm

Art TaipeiTaipei World Trade Center Area A & D
August 20(Fri) ~ 24(Tue) 11am ~ 7pm, last day until 6pm
August 19(Thu) 6:30 ~ 9pm Vernissage

.

Art GwangJu 2010 –
September 1 ~ 5

ShangHai Art Fair –
September 8 ~ 12

ShangHai Contemporary –
September 9 ~ 12

KIAF Korea International Art Fair –
September 9 ~ 13

International Art Fair Art Moscow –
September 22 ~ 26

.

Sotheby’s Hong Kong Auction – Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
October 2nd Sat.10am ~ 6pm Exhibition
October 3rd Sun.10am ~ 6:30pm Exhibition

October 4th Mon.10am Modern and Contemporary Southeast Asian Paintings Auction
October 4th Mon.10am ~ 1pm Exhibition
October 4th Mon.3pm 20th Century Chinese Art Auction
October 4th Mon.6pm Contemporary Asian Art Auction

October 4th Mon.10am ~ 6:30pm Exhibition
October 5th Tue.10am Fine Chinese Paintings Auction Session 1
October 5th Tue.2pm Fine Chinese Paintings Auction Session 2

 

Art London –
October 7 ~ 11

Art Singapore – Suntec Singapore Level 4
October 8 ~ 11

Frieze Art Fair – Regent Park, London
October 14 ~ 17

Art International Zurich –
October 14 ~ 17

Scope London – Lord’s Criket Ground, St. John’s Wood, London NW8 8QN
October 15 ~ 18

FIAC – Paris
October 21 ~ 24

.

SOFA Chicago –
November 5 ~ 7

Hisaya TairaGallery Hyundai, Seoul
November 9 ~ December 5

 

Christie’s Hong Kong Auction  – Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre
November 25 ~ 27th 10:30am ~ 6pm Viewing
November 27th 7pm Asian Contemporary Art & Chinese 20th Century Art Evening Sale
November 28th 10am Chinese 20th Century Art (Day Sale)
November 28th 2:30pm Asian Contemporary Art (Day Sale)

Christie’s Hong Kong Southeast Asian Modern and Contemporary Art
November 25 ~ 27th 10:30am ~ 6pm Viewing
November 28th 10:30am ~ 6:30pm Viewing
November 29th 10am Auction

.

Art Asia Miami
December 2(Thu) ~ 5(Sun) 11am ~ 7pm
December 1(Wed) 11am ~ 6pm Vernissage

Art Miami – Art Miami Pavillion
December 1(Wed) ~ 5(Sun) 11am ~ 7pm, last day until 6pm
November 30(Tue) VIP Preview

Photo Miami
December 1 ~ 5

Scope Miami – Wynwood Arts District (Soho Studios 2136 NW 1st Avenue, Miami FL 33127)
December 3(Fri) ~ 6(Mon) 11am ~ 7pm, last day until 6pm
December 2(Thu) 11am ~ 6pm First View and Press View

Art Basel Miami BeachMiami Beach Convention Center
December 2(Thu) ~ 5(Sun) noon to 8pm, last day until 6pm
December 1(Wed) 6 to 9pm Vernissage

Pulse Miami – ice Palace
December 2 ~ 5

.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *